Assignment 1: Contrasts

The first assignment is to take 16 photographs. 8 pairs of images that show a contrast between two qualities, and an image that contains a contrast within it.

Contrast: “To set in opposition in order to show or emphasize differences” Answers.com

Johannes Itten (November 11, 1888 – May 27, 1967)

The Basic Course by Swiss expressionist painter Johannes Itten was based on colour, tone, lighting and comparative relationships between them and the background. The images from his book illustrate very prominent subjects. I need to ensure that the meaning for each quality is clear in each image. Therefore by looking at other photographers’ images I intend to identify particular characteristics that resemble each contrasting quality.

After 4 weeks of reviewing my old photos and determining what the key principles are for portrayting each each quality, I have finally assembled what I’m 99% certain will be my first completed assignment.

About Matt

Photography degree student with the Open College of the Arts.
This entry was posted in TAOP and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Assignment 1: Contrasts

  1. Pingback: Moving up the learning curve « My digital eye

  2. I like what you have so far. It seems like such an easy assignment. But to come up with creative, original ideas, and then to actually capture them successfully, is really not easy!

    I wish you all the best with yours.

    Like

  3. Pingback: Unautomatic for the people « My digital eye

Leave a Reply

