Emmerdale Allstars

Continuing my voluntary work for the Butterwick Hospice I was asked to photograph a fund-raising match between a local team and the Emmerdale Allstars. I’m more of a football fan than an Emmerdale fan, and I’ve always wanted to sit behind a goal with a zoom lens and get close to the action. It was a bright sunny day so I used a shutter speed of 1/500 to freeze key moments and produce sharp shots, especially since I was using a telephoto lens, which I had learnt that is very sensitive to camera shake.

Before going to the match I wondered how the art of photography relates to taking football photographs. I decided upon my own criteria:

1) Using a shallow depth of field so the background does not distract the action.

2) That the ball is in the photograph to maintain the context of the game.

3) To use a fast shutter speed and high ISO (when necessary) to freeze the action.

4) To try and have more than one player in the images.

Below are some of my photographs from the match. I was really pleased with them but I think I was fortunate it was such a sunny day because I didn’t take a tripod with me.

About Matt

Photography degree student with the Open College of the Arts.
This entry was posted in TAOP. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

