My first wedding shoot

I’ve just come back from my first wedding shoot! The bride needed a photographer at the last minute and asked me to step in. I’ve filmed a few weddings before, but never photographed one. Filming a wedding produces lots of footage which almost guarantees that you will be able to have a decent-ish finished product. Photography however is often a one chance opportunity to capture emotions, family and friends. There wasn’t much room to move around the venue. It had snowed a lot outside and so I needed to use a smaller aperture to compensate for the brightness. The bride and groom were very grateful for the photos I produced the narrative projects from TAOP guided me to take a mixture of images, including details on the wedding cake etc.

However I wished I had studied the People and Place OCA Photography course as I felt I needed help composing the group shots. I was conscious of keeping the backdrop interesting and seasonal, so the Christmas tree seemed like the best option. I enjoyed the buzz of taking wedding photos, aware of trying to document the story of the day, choosing a variety of angles and framing shots in different ways.

 

About Matt

Photography degree student with the Open College of the Arts.
This entry was posted in TAOP. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

