Unfirework

Having learnt so much about using shutter speed in low light I was very excited about going to the Bonfire Night firework show tonight. I found a good spot near the river to get some photos of the fireworks. However just as the show started my camera lost power. I tried everything I could think of to get it up and running again. No…it wasn’t the battery! I had charged it up before I left for the show. When I got home (with no firework photos) I looked the problem up on the web. Apparently it’s happened to a few Canon users. One solution was to take the battery out and then put it in again. Unbelievably I tried it and it worked! I wasn’t sure whether to be relieved that it wasn’t going to be expensive to fix or annoyed that I’d not thought about taking the battery out. This incident has made me aware of the importance of checking that everything is working before setting off, and that it would be worth using my old 400D as a back-up.

About Matt

Photography degree student with the Open College of the Arts.
This entry was posted in TAOP. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

