The Golden Section

On a visit to the National Portrait Gallery in London I bought this book by Scott Olsen. I thought it would make a good introduction to my work in Project 13: The Golden Section. It really intrigued me how an image can be purposely positioned according to specific ratios to make it aesthetically pleasing.

A code that seems to underlie life, the universe and everything, a pattern we instinctively recognise as beautiful…

Olsen (2009)

I am particularly interested in this because wanting to create better photographs was one of the reasons I signed up to TAOP. Whilst Olsen’s book deals with the history of nature’s greatest secret and a variety of patterns, I found page 8 the most relevant to photography, ‘Phi on the Plane’, because it referred to rectangles and this is the shape of a camera’s viewfinder. Dividing the viewfinder into thirds creates golden rectangles. I have used this in Project 13 to analyse some of my own photographs.

About Matt

Photography degree student with the Open College of the Arts.
This entry was posted in TAOP. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

