The Digital SLR Handbook


When I first started DPP I found it difficult to find any books that went behind software and hardware manuals. I wanted a book that would give further information to what I was learning about in the course. Then, whilst looking at the photography section in Eason’s in Derry, I came across Michael Freeman’s The Digital SLR Handbook
.
If you are working through DPP then I would strongly recommend this book. After all, it was Michael Freeman who wrote the OCA course, and this book subsequently expands on the information in the course file.
Keeping up with digital technology is a challenge in itself and there is always the danger of buying a book that quickly becomes outdated. I was lucky to buy the 3rd Edition (published in 2011), so it includes up to date information about new technologies such as Eye-if cards.
Freeman’s text is divided into 4 sections, which are similar to the structure of the DPP course. These are:

1. Digital Capture
2. Image Workflow
3. Image Editing
4. Delivery

I am hoping to use it particularly for further explanation about dynamic range and curves adjustment. There is a lot of information available online, but I feel that The Digital SLR Handbook offers a concise overview that I can use as a starting point for further investigations.

About Matt

Photography degree student with the Open College of the Arts.
This entry was posted in DPP, Reading and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

