The Olympic Spirit

Olympic fever finally reached the North East this weekend. A once in a lifetime opportunity to photograph the Olympic torch passing by. I am very proud to say I know one of the torch bearers and so traveled up to Hartlepool to photograph her part of the relay.
Being a veteran DPP student I had prepared my camera the night before, with my white balance set to cloudy, like it has been for most of the summer! Since there would be a lot of movement during the relay I chose to have an ISO of 400 and use a 90-300ml telephoto lens to capture as much of the action as possible.
The convoy that preceded the torch was fantastic, geeing up the crowd, whilst the police motorcyclists hi-fived the children standing along the roadside. It felt very reassuring to have everything prepared beforehand, I could just concentrate on the types of shots I needed. At one point I chose to photograph the expectant street of spectators at f/19. Just seconds later the torch had arrived and I started snapping, using continuous shutter to get as many chances of capturing a good composition. However I had forgotten to adjust my AV to f/8. This meant at f/19 some of my images were disappointingly unsharp. Everything happened so quickly that I didn’t have time to think. This has taught me to not be complacent during a shoot and that the workflow should be evaluated and acted upon throughout the event. Despite this I got some great images.

20120617-231853.jpg

About Matt

Photography degree student with the Open College of the Arts.
This entry was posted in Project 1: Workflow, Reflections and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

