At a stand still

20130121-235329.jpg
Two days of snowfall and Britain is almost at a standstill! Schools have been closed for two days and people are panic buying at the supermarket.
I’m thinking of doing Landscape for my next OCA course so the current weather seemed to be an ideal opportunity to have a go. After all it’s not as though we get so much snow. I’m also just 3 photos away from completing DPP Assignment 5, and I need to think about what they will be. Therefore I thought it would be a good idea to photograph something else. I walked to a brook which I knew well from when I was a boy, going fishing for sticklebacks with my brother. Today the fields were blanketed in snow and the trees appeared to be very solitary. I purposely over-exposed the photographs by 1-2 stops to create an ethereal quality to each picture. When I uploaded them to Aperture there was very little that I needed to do in terms of editing. This helped me to realise that post production can sometimes be done before you press the shutter button. Deciding how you intend your final image to look and how you use the camera’s manual settings to your advantage, the less time you will need to spend editing after capture.

About Matt

Photography degree student with the Open College of the Arts.
This entry was posted in DPP and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to At a stand still

  1. Catherine says:

    It does look very ethereal. We were only discussing the other day whether you needed to over-expose with snow given the qualities of modern cameras. However you’ve showed how well it can work.

    Like

    • Matt says:

      Thanks Catherine. Just increasing the exposure by 1 or 2 stops really can make the difference. With no increase the images just seemed very grey.

      Like

Leave a Reply

