From Pinhole to Pinterest

As part of the learning process my tutor has encouraged me to look at the work of other photographers. Whilst I have collected a few photography books since starting my degree, the most obvious source of material is on the web. However this vast ever-growing database of images makes it difficult to concentrate on a particular photographer or style of photography. It’s like looking for a needle in a hay stack, but not knowing what the needle looks like! There’s just too much choice.
Yesterday I watched The Art of Photography podcast which offered a possible solution. The presenter, Ted Forbes, suggested that Pinterest might offer a solution for photographers to collect and ‘scrap book’ photographs as pins on themed boards. I’ve started to compile boards of photographers that have inspired some of my own images. Being able collate lots of images in such a visual way is great but also raises the issue of copyright. Is it ok to have another persons work displayed in a space they have not given permission for? At the very least the image should be linked to the original and credited with it’s creator.

About Matt

Photography degree student with the Open College of the Arts.
This entry was posted in Project 1: Workflow and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to From Pinhole to Pinterest

  1. Catherine says:

    I have a Pinterest board as well Matt and it’s very useful to have such a visual record.

    Like

  2. Catherine says:

    Forgot to mention the copyright aspect which is much emphasised on OCA forums of course. If it’s such an issue then presumably Pinterest would have been closed down by now so my inclination it to wait and see. I always provide a brief summary.

    Like

  3. Matt says:

    Thanks Catherine. I see it as being a good opportunity to promote work of others, as well as which might otherwise never be seen. So long as it provides a link back to the source and that it’s credited.

    Like

  4. watlvry says:

    Do you both also keep a physical scrapbook/learning log? This subject torments me, especially in a digital course. My blog is on-line so do I need a book of cuttings. Is Pinterest an equivalent?

    Like

    • Matt says:

      Your blog looks great. Congratulations on getting 73% at assessment. I use a notebook to jot down ideas and any quotes from reading, but the bulk of my work goes on my blog. For assessment I just submit my blog as a Learning Log. I feel that it’s perfect for linking bits of information in a non-linear way. There are posts which may relate to 2 or 3 different exercises. It also offers opportunities to refer back to prior learning later in other modules.
      It’s very much down to personal preference, whether you have a paper-based or digital learning log. I suppose the other benefit of having it online is the ability for others to post comments.
      Hope that helps.
      Matt

      Like

    • Catherine says:

      I keep a physical scrapbook as well Brian – some musings; notes (basis of blog write-ups) made at study visits/exhibitions; postcards etc. It isn’t complicated otherwise that would be even more time away from taking actual photographs. I use Pinterest as an on-line visual reminder – wouldn’t submit it as evidence.

      Like

Leave a Reply

