People & Place

Now that I’ve completed DPP I phoned the OCA to sign up for my next course today. The photography degree pathway requires me to complete 3 Level 1 courses. Having completed TAOP and DPP, I decided to start People & Place. In Level 2 I am planning to study Documentary and Landscape, so I intend to use P & P as giving me a foundation in these two aspects of photography. At the moment I am really looking forward to the ‘place’ part of this course, but am a little unsure about the ‘people’ part. I don’t feel entirely comfortable with the idea of taking portraits and photographing people who I am a stranger to. Even as I am typing this I am thinking how bizarre this sounds, since the majority of photographs that we take are of people. For example the majority of images on Facebook are of people who can be tagged, and I’m often finding myself in situations where I am taking photos of people unfamiliar to me, such as at weddings. Part of my uncertainty is because I’m unsure of the ‘right way’ to take photos of people, in terms of setting up their posture etc. Hopefully P & P will give me lots of advice and techniques that I can employ.

About Matt

Photography degree student with the Open College of the Arts.
This entry was posted in People & Place and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to People & Place

  1. Catherine says:

    You’re not alone in this Matt. I’ve been surprised how many people (including me) are unsure re taking photographs of people. the Book, “The Gaze’ is excellent I think. If I was starting over again I would make much more use of it than I did in Part !.
    Best of luck with P&P.

    Like

    • Matt says:

      Thanks for the recommendation Catherine. I’ve just received it from Amazon and it looks great. You might have heard of David Bate’s book ‘photography (Key Concepts). It covers every genre of photography, summarising the key points without getting bogged down in too much detail. I’m finding it useful as an overview.

      Like

      • Catherine says:

        Serendipity! I was at the Thames Valley Group meeting on Saturday and we had an extract from Bate’s book to look at when we were discussing Semiotics (don’t ask – just wait!).

        Like

Leave a Reply

